Home > Vuelta a Espana 2014
Vuelta a Espana 2014Vuelta a Espana 2014

The Vuelta a España (Tour of Spain) 2014

After an incredible 2013 edition with lots of uphill finishes, 41 year old Chris Horner came out best with Tour favorite and Giro winner Vicenzo Nibali coming in second before Movistar's local favorite Alejandro Valverde.

The Vuelta a España or Tour of Spain is an annual multi stage race held in Spain. Along with the Tour de France and Giro d'Italia, the Vuelta makes up cycling's prestigious, three week-long Grand Tours. 

The route of the 2014 Vuelta a Espana has now been announced and the 2014 Tour of Spain will start with a team time trial in Jerez de la Frontera with the finish with a 10km individual time trial in the Galician city of Santiago de Compostela.

For 2014 the concensus is that the Vuelta route is a little bit more manageable for the riders than in previous years but the stages will be shorter and more nervous so still very exciting for the 2014 edition.

The race has already had some big names confirmed as taking part with Alberto Contador, Alejandro Valverde, Joaquin Rodriguez and Bradley Wiggins among the favourites to win.

With the 2014 road cycling World Championships in Ponferrada, Spain, only weeks later, the 2014 Vuelta is likely to attract a very strong field.

The climax of the 2014 Vuelta will come in the form of 8 gruelling mountain stages towards the end of the race with 3 consecutive mountains stages during stages 14, 15 and 16 followed by a rest day, an individual time trial plus a further 3 mountain stages in the final 5 days.

Our travel packages to the 2014 Vuelta a Espana are available now.

The Final week of the Vuelta a Espana 2014
This week we will take you to watch the final stages of the 2014 Vuelta a Espana from the second and final rest day, all the way until the final day in Santiago de Compostela.

We have chosen to stay for the full duration in Fecha near the city of Santiago de Compostela in Northern Spain. Famous for the Pilgrimage route, the Camino de Santiago. By using this as our base we will be ideally located to access all of the final 5 stages of the 2014 Vuelta.

Daily transport will be provided by our experienced bike guides and our bike carrying minibus.
The group size is limited to only 8 so we expect this trip to fill up fast.

Click here to book this cycling holiday to the 2014 Tour de France
Click for more information about this Tour de France 2014 cycling holiday

The route of the 2014 Vuelta a España:

Vuelta Route Map - Click for larger version

Stage 1, Sat, August 23: Jerez de la Frontera, 12.6km team time trial
Stage 2, Sun, August 24: Algeciras to San Fernando, 174.4km
Stage 3, Mon, August 25: Cadiz to Arcos de la Frontera, 188km
Stage 4, Tues, August 26: Mairena del Alcor to Cordoba, 172.6km
Stage 5, Wed, August 27: Priego de Cordoba to Ronda, 182.3km
Stage 6, Thurs August 28: Benalmadena to La Zubia, 157.7km
Stage 7, Fri, August 29: Alhendin to Alcaudete, 165.4km
Stage 8, Sat, August 30: Baeza to Albacete, 207.4km
Stage 9, Sun, Aug 31: Carboneras de Guadazon-Aramon Valdelinares, 181km
Rest day, Monday, September 1
Stage 10, Tue, September 2: Monasterio de Veruela to Borja, 34.5km ITT
Stage 11, Wed, September 3: Pamplona to San Miguel de Aralar, 151km
Stage 12, Thurs, September 4: Logrono to Logrono, 168km
Stage 13, Fri, September 5: Belorado to Obregon, 182km
Stage 14, Sat, September 6: Santander to La Camperona, 199km
Stage 15, Sun, September 7: Oviedo to Lagos de Covadonga, 149km
Stage 16, Mon, Sept 8: San Martin del Rey Aurelio to La Farrapona, 158.8km
Rest day, Tuesday, September 9
Stage 17, Wed, September 10: Ortigueira to A Corua, 174 km
Stage 18, Thurs, September 11: A Estrada to Monte Castrove en Meis, 173.5 km
Stage 19, Fri, September 12: Salvaterra de Mio to Cangas do Morrazo, 176.5 km
Stage 20, Sat, September 13: Santa Estebo de Ribas do Sil to Ancares, 163.8km
Stage 21, Sun, September 14: Santiago de Compostela, 10km individual time trial

Home

Top of Page